wanomad.blogg.se

Smokey robinson a quiet storm discogs
Smokey robinson a quiet storm discogs





smokey robinson a quiet storm discogs

That’s what everyone called me until I was about 12 and then I dropped the Joe part. So from the time I was 3 years old if people asked me what my name was I didn’t tell them my name was William, I told them my name was Smokey Joe. He got a cowboy name for me,which was Smokey Joe. He used to take me to see cowboy movies all the time when I was a little boy because I loved cowboy movies. Smokey Robinson (SR) My uncle Claude was my favorite uncle he was also my godfather. SENTINEL: I looked up the origin of your name, Smokey, and unless it means something else, I saw that your uncle gave you that nickname, and he was giving it to you so that you would constantly remember that you were a Black man because you are fair skinned. The Interview: Smokey Robinson Spoke with the Sentinel’s Chelsea Battle and Brandon I. Cortines School of Visual and Performing Arts in downtown Los Angeles on September 29. The proceeds from the concert will go towards Wilson’s medical costs. Pastor Frank, a long time friend of Robinson, was diagnosed with cancer 5 years ago, in addition to an undiagnosed illness 16 years ago, which affects his mobility and speech. Bunny Wilson of New Dawn and Christian Village Church. He will also be headlining a benefit concert for Pastor Frank and P. “Words” is not the only Smokey Robinson attraction for Los Angelinos this month. “Something that familiarizes people with it because you’re trying to sell it…but poetry is freedom and you can write however and whatever you want”. “A song has to have some uniformity” says Robinson. Often feeling more or less constrained by the structure that comes with songwriting, Robinson suggests that poetry gives an artist more freedom. Through his poems, which are inspired by Robinson’s personal life and shaped by American history, theater patrons are given access to Smokey Robinson the person, creating an enhanced image of Smokey Robinson the music legend. The show will run on two dates, September 21 stand 22 nd, and will be featured at the El Portal Theater in North Hollywood.

smokey robinson a quiet storm discogs

His first event, “Words”, is a one-man show featuring six of Robinson’s self authored poems. Given that Robinson has wooed us with his lyrics for decades, it should come as no surprise that he also writes great poetry. “I write poetry all the time, I have been all of my life.” “For the first time ever I’m doing two nights of me just saying my poetry,” Robinson beams. Robinson has two upcoming shows for Los Angelinos this month, one of which features him not singing or dancing, but reciting original poetry. Soft and warm, Smokey Robinson is still that quiet storm he sang about in the 70’s, only now the storm has changed its course, sailing into our lives in a way you may not have imagined. We remember them dancing in identical suits, executing calculated yet smooth on-stage moves. We often associate Robinson with the group of soulful crooners known as The Miracles, serenading audiences all over the world.







Smokey robinson a quiet storm discogs